Sunday, October 26, 2008

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award was first given to its namesake in 1954. This bronze medal honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Winners of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award include E.B. White, Theodor S. Geisel (Dr. Seuss), Marcia Brown, and Eric Carle.

For a complete list you may go to the ALA website.

Photo credit goes to ALA.

No comments: